top of page

From remote to tablet: the anime-obsessed geek is getting productive.


I take a sip from my red X-men tea mug and can taste the warm, cinnamon, and apple flavored tea go down my throat. My eyes are sizzling, again, after another all nighter of staring at a bright screen, infested with anime and video games, baking my brain. I rub my eyes and take a glance at the night sky, and the little stars through the polluted atmosphere, and wonder what does the future await, for a geeky kid like me? Let's go back to a very important and recent day of my life, to help answer such a question. There I was, falling back, feeling the wind softly brush against my back and arms, feeling gravity take control of me. I feel the surface of the ocean gently slap my back as I start to sink in the abyss of my guilty pleasures; anime, video games, intensive web browsing, etc. I'm surrounded by all these things as it holds me, and keeps me away from all my worries with a gateway to a quicket, calm world. There goes my worry of my future dissolving away from me. It's surprising that just a week ago, my life was in a nutshell...

"Something I know you're really passionate about, out of everything, is anime. Why don't you try to do something with that?" I was in front of the class, bouncing nervouslly on a yellow yoga ball, presenting my independent project pitch. My mind was really thinking that I would get the thumbs up for my project, but no, that was not the case. This idea of receiving thumbs up, ended up being the opposite; I was instead bombarded with put-downs and negative comments on why my simple "drawing/marketting" project, wouldn't work. It was tough honestly, getting such harsh and explicit feedback, but it opened me up. The feedback turned into a discussion on my passion for anime and making it into a full-on project. No, I didn't think that was likely to happen, and it sounded stupid to me, but what else could I have done? I learned that day, that doing a project related with anime was the best damn decision I've made in a while. With no clue on my future careers, and my passions, doing that sort of project seemed to be the only option. However, the more I reflected on it, the more excited I was. "Wow, I could be probably make my own anime, with an opening song!" The kind of opening where you get the goosebumps on how epic it is. "I could make a short film!" My ideas got crazier and crazier, and I became so excited. "Hey, well I have a tablet you can use if you want." (for drawing anime) "Well, the IA has a tablet you can borrow." My classmates and teacher, made the pathway to exploring this project much more feasible. With a borrowed tablet, I've been scratching away with my stylus, for hours on end. For someone who has never drawn much, I find myself getting better and better. I correlated marketing and anime to set a project for making a short commercial with the aspects of anime-style animation.

So, yes, this geeky kid has got himself a little more figured out. I've discovered that even the most uncommon passions, can be turned into something big. I was too quick to put down the idea of my passion for anime being used for a future career. Learning to draw such things, can be turned into media, for the marketting career I'm interested in. So, I get a balance of both entertainment and study that turns out to be a powerful combination. I'm going places, blindfolded, but with an idea of where I'm stepping, in order to find my goal. This geeky kid is figuring himself out with a smile on his face.

Here's some of my drawings so far:


bottom of page