top of page

What its like to wear a mask...


I like to be the anonymous one in situations whenever I can, because it entertains me. Don't you think its cool to slip on a mask and not be known by anyone? There's so many things you could do in secret, that you wouldn't really think of doing in public. For me, I like to put on the mask when somebody wants opinions on something. An example for this would be when I had to give feedback to my teacher about him and the class, in an anonymous survey.

In all honesty, I have a lot to say when it comes to this sort of thing, but I tend to keep quiet. Why? Because I feel its better when people realise things themselves. There were a lot of things ranging from positive and negative comments I gave through the survey, that I put a lot of detail in. I glazed some emotions here and there adding some depth to the secretive donut I was giving for my teacher to taste.

I like to exaggerate at times when I write feedback, so the person can analyse and see how much they can agree or disagree with it. That is my goal, for the person to really sit down and think about the things I say, no matter the topic. It can be useful to purposely exaggerate feedback, but I do it for a good cause. If someone has a logo they want feedback on, and its not the best in quality, I'll say only negative things. Forget the positives, that doesn't do much in my opinion. You're attention then goes on to the little postive feedback you get, and you embrace it, wasting your attention on what really needs to be looked at, the negative.

The only time we can mix our feedback is when the product itself is at a 50/50 in positiveness and negativeness. Why say mostly positive things about a boring book that you don't care about just because of the neat cover? The cover is the little thing, that advertises the book. From experience, I've tried to read many books that I thought would be awesome just because of the badass cover, and became later disapointed of the quality of the literal text. The book cover is the wrapper to the candy bar you're about to indulge yourself in. Sure you can make it look all nice, but what matters is the inside, and if the book itself is boring or makes no sense, your focus should be giving feedback only on that. I'm not going to say postive things about a candy bar that tastes like pure excrement because of the neat wrapper it came in.

I gave rather intense feedback to my teacher and he later added them to topic of discussion. Honestly, because of the way I like my anonymity, I didn't really want to say anything. I wanted to hear what other's thought. There were things that people decided to discuss on, and it opened up conversations that you wouldn't normally hear in my class. For example, we discussed on my teacher's performance based on negative and positive feedback I wrote.

The comical thing, however, was that students started to get themselves into a guessing game on who wrote the feedback I made. They hypothesised that it was someone else, just like the citizens in Gotham trying to guess who the hell Batman is. They thought it was a girl, who wrote it, just because I put a smiley face. I wanted to say it was me, but it was interesting to hear the reasonings as to why they thought it was this person. I was laughing internally at the fact that they thought it was a girl who wrote it. It made me feel funny, hearing that people thought that my writing was feminine in a sense. I decided to let it go. Anonymity is an interesting method of giving feedback.


bottom of page